Evita (2019)

Evita Poster

Production Details


Following on from our multi-award-winning production of Andrew Lloyd Webber’s “Sunset Boulevard”, Durham Musical Theatre Company is proud and privileged to be bringing to Durham for the first time, the Lloyd Webber and Tim Rice mega-hit, “Evita”.

Evita” charts the story of Argentine political leader, Eva Perón, the second wife of Argentine dictator, Juan Perón, from her humble beginnings through to the extraordinary wealth, power and status which ultimately led her to be heralded as the ‘spiritual leader of the nation’ by the Argentine people.

Evita” opened in London in 1978 and made an overnight star of it’s leading lady, Elaine Paige. David Essex played the narrator, Che, with Joss Ackland as Perón. The following year, the show opened on Broadway, starring Patti LuPone, Mandi Patinkin and Bob Gunton. Many international productions and tours followed and in 1996 a major film of the musical was made with Madonna, Antonio Banderas and Jonathan Pryce in the lead roles.

The score of “Evita”, including: “High Flying, Adored”, “On This Night of a Thousand Stars”, “Oh, What a Circus”, “Another Suitcase in Another Hall” and the iconic “Don’t Cry for Me, Argentina”, became an instant sensation with several numbers going straight to the top of the charts.


The Company

Kate Ayres, Emma Barthel, Michael Beckford, Denise Beckford, Steven Berry, Enid Bilton-Gale, Liz Cairns, Claire Carr, Joe Casling, Izzy Chazot, Chris Coats, Doreen Cothay, Michael Crick, Janet Dixon, Mike Dixon, Alison Elrick, Rachael Forrester, Alan Francis, Rob Gair, Bob Gale, Anne Gatherar, Rebecca Grundy, Katy Haggart, Rebecca Hassell, Steve Hill, John Hunt, Samantha Ibbotson, Geoff Knott, Mike Langthorne, Catherine Lawes, Guy Lawes, Simon Lawes, Mark Lewis, Paul Maddison, Sue Mason, Louise Masters, Delia McNally, Gary Milton, Kameron Milton, Sharon Milton, Cameron Morl, Sue Morl, Sue Robinson, Pascalle Rossle, Charlie Seeley, Oliver Serginson, Derek Smith, Nicky Tones, Chaire Ungley, Katy Walton, Caroline Wilson, Peter Wilson


Madeleine Banks, Jennifer Kirby, Gracie Peacock, Matilda Simpson-Turnbull, Michael Taphouse, Katie Todd, Emily Jo Willis, Ben Winthrop


Amelia, Holly, Abigail, Abbi, Bea, Eva, Isabelle, Mathew, Alexi, Abigail, Holly, Anya, Phoebe, Heid


  • Stage Manager – Craig Pugh
  • Deputy Stage Manager – Emma Parnaby
  • Assitant Stage Managers – Gary Milton, Simon Lawes
  • Technical Support – Tez Errington, Andrew French, Andrew Shutt, Darren Lowe & the Gala Crew
  • Stage Crew – Judith Willis, Kevin McNally, Anthony Dixon, Sam Smith, Sarah Watson & Team
  • Stage Plans – Nicky Tones
  • Set Hire – Scenic Projects Suffolk
  • Properties Team – Denise Brooksbank, Melanie Spedding, Rachael Burnett, Judith Baglee, Peter Baglee, Maria Turner, Peter Turner
  • Properties – Scenic Projects, Suffolk & Society Prop Store
  • Extra Properties – Michael Groocock
  • Wardrobe – Jean Graham, Jane Flowers, Carolyn Knott, Kate Gair
  • Costumes – Society Wardrobe, Triple C Costumes, Flame Costumes, Alan Graham Costumes
  • Make-Up – Janice Smith, Rebecca Turner, Nicola Squares, Danielle Cullen & Team
  • Wig Master – Chris Carr Whitley Bay
  • Lighting Design & Operation – Graham Rushton
  • Sound Design – Tez Errington
  • Sound Operator – Elliot Nelson
  • Follow Spot Operators – John Murdock, Kat Smith
  • Rehearsal Pianists – Martin Dack, Tim Jasper, Warren Smith, Peter Allsopp
  • Front of House – Ruth Ball, Frank Cure, Val Cure, Bill Harland, Sarah Jackson, Catherine Finn, Steve Norman, Christine Dobbie, Elizabeth Clapham & Team
  • Dressers – Louise Mills, Valenda Taylor, Allison Smith, Natalie Elleithy, Samantha Peacock, Nicola Duke, Caroline Brown & Team
  • Refreshments – Joan Foxall, David Foxall, Audrey Robson & Team


  • Flute – Rachel Jeffers
  • French Horn – Chris Senior
  • Trumpet – Alex Lewis, Michael Lamb
  • Trombone – John Flood
  • Clarinet / Saxophone – Julie Dorr
  • Violins – Jane Cuggy, Gordan Dyke, Ruth Turner
  • Viola – David Williams
  • Cello – Peter Richardson
  • Guitar – Paul McArthur
  • Bass Guitar – Peter Morris
  • Percussion – Susie Jones
  • Drums – Malcolm Dick
  • Keyboards – Tim Jasper, Warren Smith, Andy Soulsby, Mark Thompson

Promotion Gallery

Show Gallery

Backstage Gallery


Promotional Videos


Michelle Coulson – NODA North